Om Unit – Acid Dub Studies

I interrupt this period of doing some work to quickly blog an album that I’m listening to which is about to go on the end of the stupidly long ‘must-buy’ list. Its positioning on the list doesn’t indicate how likely it is that I’ll get it, as I rarely get them in order. Whim always dictates the day when I decide to buy stuff. Whim is a benevolent but frustratingly unpredictable dictator. The Executive Monkey wouldn’t have lasted five minutes.

I don’t know how often I’ve posted dubstep stuff before. Not enough, I feel; in recent memory I can think of Cruelle, which is adjacent territory. I’m listening to it more often these days, I like how wide the scope for the ‘scapes are, the malleability of the rhythms, how immersive it is. Om Unit uses all these aspects, and more I’m not thinking of at the moment, to superb effect.

Leave a comment